COUNTRIES, CULTURES, HISTORY / Israel, Holy Land, Palestina / Christians

The Gospel of Luke 1/26 In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, 27 to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David; and the virgin's name was Mary. 28 And he came to her and said, "Hail, O favored one, the Lord is with you!" 29 But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and considered in her mind what sort of greeting this might be. 30 And the angel said to her, "Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. 31 And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus. 32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Most High; and the Lord God will give to him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over the house of Jacob for ever; and of his kingdom there will be no end." 34 And Mary said to the angel, "How shall this be, since I have no husband?" 35 And the angel said to her, "The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy, the Son of God.


Galleries in this topic

The Way of Sorrow- First Station
the Chapel of the Flagellation where tradition holds that Jesus was interrogated by Pilate. The Franciscans and Pilgrim's begin their weekly procession through the Stations of the Cross here, on Friday afternoons. This modest chapel was built on the site of a Crusader oratory. Inside are glass panel representing the scourging of Jesus (center), Pilate cleansing his hands of the blood of the innocent (left), and the liberation of Barabas (right).
The Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station
Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station. The meeting between Jesus and his mother is commemored by a small oratory with an exquisite lunette over the antrance, adorned by a bas- relif carved by the Polish artist Zieliensky.
The Way of Sorrow-Seventh Station
The Way of Sorrow-Seventh Station. Here the Via Dolorosa intersects the noisy bazaar, and a column marked with the Roman numerals VII indicates where Jesus fell for the second time.
The Way of Sorrow- Eight Station
The Way of Sorrow- Eight Station. A small plaque with a cross on the wall marks the place where Jesus met his pious women of Jerusalem and told them, “Don’t weep for me, daughters of Jerusalem, but yourselves and your children.” st. Luke
The Way of Sorrow- Sixth Station
The Way of Sorrow, Sixth Station. Church of St. Veronica. The Armenian Orthodox church here recalls Veronica who wiped the brow of Jesus with her veil. The impressions of His face remained on the veil which has been kept in St. Peter’s since 707. Inside the church is the tomb of St. Veronica.

Related topics

The Via Dolorosa, The Way of Sorrow