COUNTRIES, CULTURES, HISTORY / Israel, Holy Land, Palestina / Christians

The Gospel of Luke 1/26 In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, 27 to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David; and the virgin's name was Mary. 28 And he came to her and said, "Hail, O favored one, the Lord is with you!" 29 But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and considered in her mind what sort of greeting this might be. 30 And the angel said to her, "Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. 31 And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus. 32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Most High; and the Lord God will give to him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over the house of Jacob for ever; and of his kingdom there will be no end." 34 And Mary said to the angel, "How shall this be, since I have no husband?" 35 And the angel said to her, "The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy, the Son of God.


Galleries in this topic

The Way of Sorrow-Seventh Station
The Way of Sorrow-Seventh Station. Here the Via Dolorosa intersects the noisy bazaar, and a column marked with the Roman numerals VII indicates where Jesus fell for the second time.
The Way of Sorrow- Ninth Station
The Way of Sorrow- Ninth Station –A column near the Ethiopian monastery shows the place where Jesus fell for the third time.
The Way of Sorrow-Third Station
The Way of Sorrow, Third Station – A small chapel built by Polish Catholic cavalrymen marks the spot where Jesus fell for the first time. The chapel belongs to the Armenian Catholic Patriarchate.
The Way of Sorrow- Second station
The Way of Sorrow, Second station_Second Station- the Chapel of the Flagellation where tradition holds that Jesus was interrogated by Pilate. The Franciscans begin their weekly procession through the Stations of the Cross here, on Friday afternoons. This modest chapel was built on the site of a Crusader oratory. Inside are glass panel representing the scourging of Jesus (center), Pilate cleansing his hands of the blood of the innocent (left), and the liberation of Barabas (right). Ecce Homo Arch – this is the second station along the Via Dolorosa. In the 16th century, pilgrims began to refer to the arch as Ecce Homo Arch, referring to Pilate’s declaration as he presented Jesus to the crowd of spectators –Behold the man!-.In reality it is part of a triumphal arch built by Hadrian in 135 A.D. to commemorate his conquest of Jerusalem. The original arch had three parts> the largest, central arch which spans the Via Dolorosa, the left arch which is no longer in existence, and the right arc that can still be seen today inside the Church of the Sisters of Zion.
The Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station
Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station. The meeting between Jesus and his mother is commemored by a small oratory with an exquisite lunette over the antrance, adorned by a bas- relif carved by the Polish artist Zieliensky.

Related topics

The Via Dolorosa, The Way of Sorrow