Galleries in this topic

Hungarian monuments in Italy
Hungarian monuments in Italy
Jericho, Tell es-Sultan
Jericho: er Tell es-Sultan-Riha, Eriha, Yeriho. Oldest city in the world. Discovered and excavated by Kathleen Kenyon in her Trench I, the Neolithic tower was built and destroyed in Pre-Pottery Neolithic A, which Kenyon dated to 8000-7000 B.C. The 8m diameter tower stands 8m tall and was connected on the inside of a 4m thick wall.
The Way of Sorrow- Second station
The Way of Sorrow, Second station_Second Station- the Chapel of the Flagellation where tradition holds that Jesus was interrogated by Pilate. The Franciscans begin their weekly procession through the Stations of the Cross here, on Friday afternoons. This modest chapel was built on the site of a Crusader oratory. Inside are glass panel representing the scourging of Jesus (center), Pilate cleansing his hands of the blood of the innocent (left), and the liberation of Barabas (right). Ecce Homo Arch – this is the second station along the Via Dolorosa. In the 16th century, pilgrims began to refer to the arch as Ecce Homo Arch, referring to Pilate’s declaration as he presented Jesus to the crowd of spectators –Behold the man!-.In reality it is part of a triumphal arch built by Hadrian in 135 A.D. to commemorate his conquest of Jerusalem. The original arch had three parts> the largest, central arch which spans the Via Dolorosa, the left arch which is no longer in existence, and the right arc that can still be seen today inside the Church of the Sisters of Zion.
The Way of Sorrow- Eight Station
The Way of Sorrow- Eight Station. A small plaque with a cross on the wall marks the place where Jesus met his pious women of Jerusalem and told them, “Don’t weep for me, daughters of Jerusalem, but yourselves and your children.” st. Luke
The Way of Sorrow- Ninth Station
The Way of Sorrow- Ninth Station –A column near the Ethiopian monastery shows the place where Jesus fell for the third time.
The Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station
Way of Sorrow- Fourth Station. The meeting between Jesus and his mother is commemored by a small oratory with an exquisite lunette over the antrance, adorned by a bas- relif carved by the Polish artist Zieliensky.
The Way of Sorrow- Fifth Station
Way of Sorrow- Fifth Station. – As the inscription above the door of this Franciscan chapel says, here Simon of Cyrene took the cross from Jesus and carried it on to Golgotha. This is mentioned in three Gospels, but not in that of John.
Tel- Arad
Mampsis (Mamshit)
Mampsis (Mamshit)
Altar of Maria Magdalena
Altar of Maria Magdalena
Chapel of Adam
One can see the altar in the Chapel of Adam and the rock beneath the Golgotha. Adam’s skull was buried here. When Jesus was crucified and his body was nailed, his blood was dripping down from the cross and leaked through the cracked rock right on to the skull of Adam.
Chapel of Saint Helena
Chapel of Saint Helena
Chapel of Saint Jacob
Chapel of Saint Jacob
The Living Jerusalem
Ivan Benda: Liwing Jerusalem. 2003. Budapest Wherever he might be in the world, London or Beijing, Haifa or New York, Budapest or Cape Town, a Jew, when he wants to go to the City, will say: I’m going up to Jerusalem. I ask you to follow his example. Let’s open this impressive book and walk slowly up to Ivan Benda’s Jerusalem, which seems close to us on the pages, yet is as far as the sky. Through effort and goodwill and above all, through love, we can bring this sky closer to our profane world. He, who took these photographs shows us Jews, Christians and Muslims the path to follow. by László Csorba

Related topics

Israel, Holy Land, Palestina
The world of the ancient Olympic Games
Benda. Magyar Emlékek Itáliában.
Az olasz front magyar emlékei.